Topic

Protocol Submission Deadlines & Who to Submit to (Animal Research & Teaching)

red checkbox Please Note

The Local Animal Care Committees (LACCs) are meeting virtually and are reviewing all Animal Use Protocol (AUP) submissions, including new protocols, renewals and amendments. 

Who is this for?

Anyone involved with animal research or teaching at the University of Toronto (U of T), including those in the following roles.

  • Professor, Faculty Member
  • Teaching Stream Faculty
  • Principal Investigator Assistants (PIAs) with My Research Animal Protocol (MRAP) privileges

What do I need before I can begin?

If the project you are proposing does not have peer reviewed funding, please refer to Peer Review for Scientific Merit to determine the process for obtaining scientific merit review at U of T.

If the project you are proposing is for teaching, please refer to Requirements for Animal Use in Teaching for the process for obtaining pedagogical merit review at U of T

A valid UTORid for access to My Research Animal Protocols.

FAQs

How does the COVID-19 situation affect my protocol renewal?

As you’ve done in the past, please continue to submit your renewals for review and approval in advance of the protocol expiry date.

If you would like to update your protocol in advance of submitting a renewal, please submit an amendment as usual.

Renewing your protocols on time will help reduce the LACC review backlog when research resumes and is critical for protocols where animals are on hand in the facility during the research shutdown.

When submitting your protocol renewal, you can:

1) revise/update your protocol and submit your renewal as you normally would do

or

2) submit your protocol 'as is' with no change; once research starts up again, you can submit an amendment to incorporate any new projects, changes to existing projects, etc.

Animal Use Protocol Submissions

Animal Use Protocols (AUPs) (original submissions, renewals, or amendments) must be submitted via My Research Animal Protocols (MRAP) by 11:59pm on the following dates to allow the Local Animal Care Committee (LACC) sufficient time to review each AUP prior to the monthly meeting. Submissions received after the deadline will be deferred to the next meeting.

Minor amendments that only involve administrative changes (e.g., additions/removal of research personnel) are eligible for expedited review and approval by the Animal Ethics & Compliance Manager (AECM).

For additional information see My Research Animal Protocols.

Submission Deadlines and LACC Meeting Dates

Health Sciences LACC

If you are using animals for research or teaching and you work out of a Division of Comparative Medicine animal facility, such as the Medical Sciences Building (MSB) or the Donnelly Centre for Cellular & Biomolecular Research (CCBR), you will submit your protocol to the Health Sciences LACC.

AUP Submission Deadline Meeting Date
Monday, August 16, 2021 Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021 Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021 Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021 Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021* Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Monday, January 17, 2022 Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022 Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022 Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Monday, April 18, 2022 Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022 Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Monday, June 20, 2022 Wednesday, July 6, 2022
Monday, July 18, 2022 Wednesday, August 3, 2022
Monday, August 15, 2022 Wednesday, September 7, 2022

* early due to holiday closure

 

Biological Sciences LACC

If you are using animals for research or teaching and you work out of the Biological Support Facility (BSF), University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), or University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM) animal facilities, you will submit your AUP to the Biological Sciences LACC. All field work is also reviewed by the Biological Sciences LACC.

AUP Submission Deadline Meeting Date
Monday, September 6, 2021 Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Monday, October 4, 2021 Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Monday, November 1, 2021 Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021** Tuesday, December 14, 2021**
Monday, January 3, 2022 Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Monday, February 7, 2022 Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022 Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022 Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022 Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022 Tuesday, June 21, 2022
Monday, July 4, 2022 Tuesday, July 19, 2022
Monday, August 1, 2022 Tuesday, August 16, 2022

** early submission date and meeting date due to holiday closure

Interim Review

The interim review mechanism was put in place to allow the expedited review of AUPs that cannot wait for review until the next meeting. Any AUP submission (original submissions, renewals, or amendments) that has ‘interim review’ requested, must include clear justification for interim review.

The AECM will determine if the justification provided is sufficient grounds for interim review, as it requires significant resources for the LACC to perform interim reviews. If an interim review is not explicitly requested and justified, the submission will be assigned to the next available LACC meeting for review.

Please note that all submissions that undergo interim review and approval are subject to full committee review at the next available LACC meeting and should only be considered provisionally approved until they have received full committee approval.

VPRI Role

  • Coordinate the ethical review of all AUPs through the two U of T LACCs

VPRI Contact

Staff

General Inquiries: Animal Ethics & Compliance Unit

Research Oversight & Compliance Office (ROCO)
(416) 978-1134

Other Resources