Research Advisory Board

RAB Terms of Reference & Membership

The Research Advisory Board (RAB) provides the Vice-President, Research & Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives, with counsel on a wide variety of matters relating to the University of Toronto’s research enterprise. The RAB includes Vice-Principals, Research, Vice/Associate-Deans, Research and Vice-Presidents from across the disciplines on all three campuses and the affiliated hospitals.

Terms of Reference

The Research Advisory Board is representative of the research enterprise across University of Toronto campuses and hospitals. It is not intended, nor feasible, to include delegates from every research unit or discipline.

  1. Appointment to the RAB is made by the Vice-President, Research and Innovation (VPRI) with advice from the President and Provost. It is advisory to the VPRI.
  2. The RAB will be the leading venue for discussion, advice, and guidance on the strategic research issues and directions of the university.
  3. The RAB will address all aspects of the research enterprise across U of T campuses and hospitals including basic and applied research, knowledge translation, commercialization, and industry and community relations.
  4. The RAB will play a leadership role in liaison on research and commercialization matters with federal and provincial governments and their agencies.
  5. The RAB will provide advice and guidance on U of T’s strategic international research activity and presence, in the context of the university’s overall international strategy.
  6. The RAB will advise on the use of effective performance indicators that describe the differentiated position of U of T as a research-intensive university and communicate these to various stakeholders.
  7. The RAB will advise on the formulation and implementation of an effective communication strategy for research at U of T.
  8. The RAB will strike subcommittees, task forces and specialty groups of various types, from time to time, to facilitate the implementation of its activities.


Edward Sargent
Vice-President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives

Members at 1 July 2020

Christine Allen
Associate Vice-President and Vice-Provost, Strategic Initiatives

Stephane Angers
Associate Dean, Research,
Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy

Joshua Barker
Dean, School of Graduate Studies and
Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education

David Brennan
Associate Dean, Research,
Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work

Renée Brost
Chief Administrative Officer,
Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation

Judith Chadwick
Assistant Vice-President, Research Services,
Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation

Brenda Cossman
Chief of Research, Faculty of Law

Ramin Farnood
Vice-Dean, Research,
Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

Lori Ferris
Associate Vice-President, Research Oversight and Compliance,
Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation

France Gagnon
Associate Dean, Research,
Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Bernhard Ganss
Associate Dean, Research,
Faculty of Dentistry

Alison Keith
Jackman Humanities Institute

Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz
Vice-Principal, Research,
University of Toronto Scarborough

Helen Lasthiotakis
Executive Director, Research & Strategic Initiatives,
Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation

Mark Lautens
NSERC Leader,
Faculty of Arts and Science

Liat Margolis
Associate Dean, Research,
John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design

Kelly Metcalfe
Associate Dean, Research & External Relations,
Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

Alex Mihailidis
Associate Vice-President, International Partnerships

Kent Moore
Vice-Principal, Research,
University of Toronto Mississauga

Derek Newton
Assistant Vice-President, Innovations, Partnerships & Entrepreneurship,
Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation

Joanne Oxley
Acting Vice Dean, Research, Strategy, and Resources,
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management

Michele Peterson-Badali
Associate Dean, Research,
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Reinhart Reithmeier
Vice-Dean Research & Innovation,
Faculty of Medicine

Paula Rochon
Vice-President, Research, Women’s College Hospital;
Professor, Faculty of Medicine

Suzanne Stewart
Academic Adviser on Indigenous Research,
Division of the Vice-President and Provost

Tony Tang
Associate Dean, Research,
Faculty of Information

Luc Tremblay
Associate Dean, Research,
Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education

Vince Tropepe
Vice-Dean, Research & Infrastructure,
Faculty of Arts & Science

Steven van Moortele
Associate Dean, Research,
Faculty of Music

Tania Watts
CIHR Delegate; Professor, Department of Immunology,
Faculty of Medicine

David Wolfe
SSHRC Leader; Professor, Political Science,
Munk School of Global Affairs Faculty of Arts & Science;
University of Toronto Mississauga

Joe Wong
Interim Vice President, International


Radio Options- Did you find this useful?
Did you find this useful?
Let us know if you found this page useful. Did you find the information you were looking for?